Blind love ballades. Playlist

In una stanza di albergo 5 stelle, la sua The English Suite, Patty Owens sta ascoltando Blind Love Ballades, la playlist firmata Malesoulmakeup che sfida l’indie-cinismo imperante con dieci intime melodie per inconfessabili relazioni tra mansarde tedesche e loft newyorkesi.

PattyOwens

Patty Owens in the English suite by Francesco Paolo Catalano

Nel XVIII secolo J. S. Bach creò le suite inglesi. Quattrocento anni dopo i musicisti continuano ad abitarle con le loro ossessioni.
The english suites sono le mie composizioni preferite di Bach.

The Beach Boys – God only knows (1966)

“If you should ever leave me
Though life would still go on believe me
The world could show nothing to me
So what good would living do me”

Serge Gainsbourg – Je suis venu te dire que je m’en vais (1973)

“Je suis venu te dir’que je m’en vais
Tes sanglots longs n’y pourront rien changer”

Depeche Mode – A question of lust (1986)

“Apologies
Are all you seem to get from me
But just like a child
You make me smile
When you care for me”

R.E.M. – Strange currencies (1994)

“I’m going to make whatever it takes,
Ring you up, call you down, sign your name, secret love,
Make it rhyme, take you in, and make you mine”

Blur – No distance left to run (1999)

“I hope you’re with someone who makes you
Feel safe in your sleeping tonight
I won’t kill myself, trying to stay in your life”

Kings of Convenience – I don’t know what I can save you from (2001)

“I had never really known you
But I realized that the one you were before
Had changed into somebody for whom
I wouldn’t mind to put the kettle on”

Arcade Fire – Crown of love (2004)

“The pains of love, and they keep growin’,
In my heart there’s flowers growin’
On the grave of our old love,
Since you gave me a straight answer”

Antony & the Johnsons – You are my sister (feat. Boy George) (2005)

“You are my sister, we were born
So innocent, so full of need
There were times we were friends but times I was so cruel
Each time I’d ask for you to watch me as I sleep”

Royksöpp – The alcoholic (2010)

Beirut – Port of Call (2011)

“And I, I called through the air that night
A calm sea voiced with a lie
I could only smile, I’ve been alone some time”